About the trail

The Maah Daah Hey trail system showcases some of our country’s most unique and breathtaking terrain. Majestic plateaus, jagged peaks and valleys, large expanses of rolling prairie, and rivers intertwine to offer the adventerous outdoors enthusiast a taste of pure, unadulterated wilderness.



The Maah Daah Hey trail system is comprised of nine trail units of varying size and difficulty. From north to south, they are the Long X (5.8 miles), Summit (3.8 miles), Overlook (0.3 miles), Maah Daah Hey (144 miles), Bennett (3.2 miles), Cottonwood (6.9 miles), Ice Cave (1.5 miles), Buffalo Gap (18.9 miles) and Wolf (8.8 miles).


Our trail system features nearly every type of terrain found in western North Dakota. This varies from grassy flats and ridges to very rough steep clay badlands buttes with everything in between, including river bottoms and wooded draws to rolling prairie.


There are ten developed campgrounds on the Maah Daah Hey Trail System: CCC, Bennett, Buffalo Gap, Burning Coal Vein, Coal Creek, Elkhorn, Magpie, Sully Creek, Summit, and Wannagan.


The trail features eight strategically placed water caches: Bear Creek, Beicegel Creek Road, Long X, Magpie, Plumely Draw, Roosevelt, Third Creek, and Tom’s Wash.


There are twelve trailheads connecting access roads to our beautiful trail system: CCC, Bear Creek, Bennett, Bully Pulpit, Burning Coal Vein, Coal Creek, Ice Cave, Plumely Draw, Sully Creek, Third Creek, Tom’s Wash, and Wannagan.


Mountain bikes account for roughly 70% of the use with horse use in the 25% range with the remaining 5% as hikers or back packers. There is ample opportunity for all sorts of non-motorized outdoor activities within the trail system including camping, bird watching, nature and wildlife photography, and much more.


This area of North Dakota provides prime habitat for a variety of mammals and birds. Mule and whitetail deer, antelope, prairie dogs, and coyotes are often sighted, while an occasional golden eagle, red tail hawk, or prairie falcon may be spotted soaring above. Bighorn sheep and elk have been reintroduced into the area and can be spotted by keen observers. In addition, bison and feral horses roam the range in Theodore Roosevelt National Park.


The Maah Daah Hey Trail crosses the Little Missouri River in two places, Elkhorn Crossing and Sully Crossing. Water height varies with weather conditions. Consult our FAQ page for more information on the ebb and flow of the Little Missouri in the trail system.

The symbol for the trail is the turtle. Adopted from the Lakota Sioux Indians, the turtle symbolizes patience, loyalty, determination, steadfastness, long-life and fortitude. The turtle shell symbolizes protection and its effigy is emblazoned on the posts that mark the trail.

About the MDHTA

The Maah Daah Hey Trail Association is a nonprofit organization dedicated to providing and maintaining a linear, non-motorized, sustainable, recreational trail system in southwest North Dakota, through voluntary and public involvement, and in cooperation with the USDA Forest Service.


Curt Glasoe – President
Rod Mitzel – Vice President
Nick Ybarra – Second Vice President
Bruce Bishop – Secretary
Roger Ashley – Treasurer

PAST BOARD MEMBERS (1999-present)

Les Albaugh – Vice President
Aileen Luethe – Treasurer
Swede Nelson – President
Dale Heglund – Treasurer
Curt Glasoe – President
Jennifer Morlock – Secretary
Bob Shannon – President, Vice President
Don Mayer – President
Aileen Luethe – Treasurer
Darcy Sandstrom
Lauri Giese
Jutta Schmidt
Roger Ashley – Treasurer, Secretary
Mark Zimmerman – Treasurer
Darcy Sandstrom
Bennie Lange
Randy Snyder
Rick Lagge
Rod Mitzel – Vice President
Nick Ybarra – 2nd Vice President
Bruce Bishop – Secretary



Roger & Pat Ashley
Glenn & Jolene Baranko
Tom & Sherri Dickson
Ken Eberts
Curt & Carol Glasoe
Dale & Jennifer Heglund
Lisa Kudelka & Jesse Hansen
Mark Liebig
Ron & Aileen Luethe
Don & Susan Mayer
Medora Convention & Visitors Bureau
Rod & Carolyn Mitzel
John Randall Olson
Charles & Sandra Peterson
Brian Selland
Diane Stoltz Family (Doug Stoltz)
Dwight & Loa Tober
Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation
Glenny Ulschak
Nick & Lindsey Ybarra


Tawna Boyko
Denton Zubke


Curtis Alkrie
Bruce & Roberta Bishop
Kim Callahan
Dickinson Convention & Visitors Bureau
The Printers Inc., John Nelson
Eric Selle
Robert Stein
Freida Tebelius
Mark Zimmerman


Tim & Tammy Bohan
Carol Carter
Heidi Heitkamp & Dwain Lange
McKenzie County Tourism
Steve & Janet Wieser

Membership makes everything possible. If you love the Maah Daah Hey, thank them for their service, or become a member yourself, and get some great MDH gear in the process.